Adding Fractions

Fractions, fractions, fractions, and more fractions.  We’ve finished up equivalent fractions and moved on to adding fractions.

Image           Image          Image          fractions+

To begin with, I’ve used a variety of fraction apps as station based learning so that I can work in small groups with students.  One of my favorites is Slice It!, an app where students have to split shapes into equal pieces.  I like this one because of the focus on equal sized pieces.  I also like Smart Pirates, as it deals with fraction identification, equivalents, and adding fractions.  Another app that the kids like is Fractions+.  Matching fractions to pieces and connecting rows make this game-like app a favorite.  But one of my iLessons began with the app Oh No Fractions!  The full version (worth the money) has equivalent fractions plus all four operations.  I gave the students no guidance other than to play the adding fractions game and be able to tell me at the end, how to find equivalent fractions.  The app has both a Show Me feature and an I’ve Got It part.  It guides children through creating common denominators and then adding.  The kids had to turn in an index card at the end of the activity telling how to add fractions.  About 40% of the kids found the key before I ever gave any instruction.  I love inquiry based learning.

I also created an adding fraction tutorial for my students.  As I posted earlier, I love the tutorial idea because it allows my children to access the instruction whenever they want to.  While a few of my students access the video from our class site at home, the bulk of my kids use it in class.  By having the tutorial accessible on their iPads, students can use the video whenever they need it.  Those needing less support can work from the tutorial while I work with a small group who needs more intensive support.

While working on adding fractions, we also did a performance assessment.  Students had to use fraction pieces to create pairs of fractions.  They then took pictures using the iPads of each pair of fractions.  The following day, students uploaded their photos into Doodle Buddy and created number sentences using their own fraction pieces.  After solving the problems, they uploaded them to Dropbox for grading.  I love it when the kids own their work.  I gave them no portion of this assignment.  They created everything themselves.

Adding Frations       Photo Dec 27, 3 00 37 PM

Leave a Reply

