Ugly Christmas Sweater Writing Prompt

Looking for an activity that wouldn’t increase the already hefty Christmas/Full Moon hype, I stumbled across the Ugly Christmas Sweater writing idea from iintegratetechnology.  Utilizing the popularity of the ugly holiday sweater theme, I was able to hook my kids on a writing task that kept them occupied those last few days before Christmas.

Ugly Sweater AppI began by making sure that all of my kids knew what the ugly holiday sweater theme was all about.   We watched

Children used the Ugly Holiday Sweater app to write descriptively.

Children used the Ugly Holiday Sweater app to write descriptively.

the popular television commercial for Bank of America on Youtube.  Next, we used the app Ugly Holiday Sweaters to ugly sweater ourselves for the holiday season.  Some of these pictures were absolutely great!  Keep in mind, I’ve not yet given the writing prompt.  After students worked with a partner to get a photo of themselves in their ugly sweater, I finally gave the directions.  Students had to write descriptively and persuasively to convince me that their’s was the most beautiful sweater in the world.  Oh the moans and groans!

photocardThe children wrote great essays about their sweaters.  To publish, students used Bill Atkinson’s Photocard app.  On one side of the postcard was an image of them in their ugly holiday sweater, and on the other side they typed their written piece.

One comment on “Ugly Christmas Sweater Writing Prompt

  1. Bonnie says:

    I didn’t know about the postcard app. That may be something I can get my 5 year olds to use. My brain is working! Thanks for turning it on!

Leave a Reply

