iLessons

iLesson – as defined by me – any lesson integrating technology to engage students and create higher order thinking.

Last year I got caught up in the educational technology push, and have never looked back.  Continuing on with my not-so-slight obsession with ed tech, I’ve decided to try my hand at blogging.  My idea is to have this be a resource for other teachers wanting to incorporate technology into everyday lessons.  I will be blogging as a teacher and a tech coach, and hope that by doing this, I can inspire other teachers to try some of these iLessons.  I hope that readers will know that each of these lessons is in no way perfect, but were created and used in a real classroom.

A little background on me, so you know where I’m coming from.  I am a special education teacher and the tech coach for an elementary/middle school in South Carolina.  My students are primarily third through fifth grade.  Though, the ability levels I teach range from first to sixth grade.  I teach students using both modified and unmodified common core standards.  We serve a community where 80% of our students receive free or reduced lunch.  Though we are a very rural school, we are a leader in ed tech in our district.  We house eleven iPod carts (each housing 40 iPods), a set of 12 iPads, and a set of 7 MacBooks.  In my own classroom, I have two iPads, and use iPods from a cart every day.  The iLessons I hope to highlight can be adapted to 1:1 device classroom, or a 1 device classroom.  I hope that any teacher looking to jump-start a technology rich curriculum will find these ideas useful.

Please feel free to comment and ask questions.  I have found that there is no better way to create a personal learning network, than by finding like-minded teachers online.

11 comments on “iLessons

  1. I really enjoyed your post of FreeTech4Teacher’s! I am excited to follow a fellow special educator who is in love with technology as I am. I have really had a hard time finding special educator bloggers who talk about their classrooms. Do you have any people that you follow that talk about lessons in their special education courses that they teach? I have k-12 students with my main caseload being in a mixed ability high school/junior high pull out course.

    • ilessonlady says:

      Hey Angela – Thanks for checking out my site. I don’t have any sped. bloggers that I follow. I just haven’t found any I love yet. I do follow a bunch of ed. tech. blogs though. If you haven’t checked out Techchef4u.com it is worth a peek. She’s an ed. tech. coach who has a ton of great lesson ideas.

  2. Angela
    I am not a teacher any more but also really interested in this. I have a hunch that a lot of special educators use technology in their classrooms, sometimes for good or for bad more than in non-pull out programs. I would be interested in your thoughts on this and how in particular you use education technology in your pull out course.

  3. Andrea Earl says:

    Hi Sara,

    I hope you do cronical your year on this blog. I have used various technologies in my classroom for years, and this year I am piloting BYOD at my school. I’d love to share lesson ideas with you. My blog is thedigitalteacher.edublogs.org. I will also be blogging about my journey and sharing lessons.

  4. Kim says:

    Good luck with your new blog! I am looking forward to following how you use ipads in your classroom. We are not 1:! but do have a cart that rotates through our small school.

  5. Marc Young says:

    I am a technology resource for a Special Needs population in Maryland. We have just started rolling out Ipads and everyone is jumping on the App bandwagon. To me the Ipads are fine just the way they are. They provide video, camera , and Internet access. Plus a place to write and store notes. Two Apps I recommend are dropbox and pdf notes These tools in and of themselves are very powerful in the classroom. I don’t have a classroom anymore but I can see that this form of technology (Ipads) needs to be in the hands of the students.

  6. msbiddle says:

    Is there a way to sign up to get this as an email?

  7. Mark
    Thanks for your great ideas about use of ipads. I am curious if you ever did ever have your students with special needs use any of the free games available to teachers for your population. The Ipad can be a way for students to access this stuff. Is there something about the drop box and pdf notes that make them particularly well suited to your population of students? Thanks much for your help. You can see my work on Patricia-Burch.org. And thanks Ilesson lady for getting this going!

    • Marc Young says:

      At my location we use Boardmaker quite a bit. Staff are always creating worksheets but then after their use they are thrown away. To me a lot of wasted paper and paper costs. So you can copy and paste boardmaker files to word. Then save them as a PDF. The PDF files can be saved to dropbox and accessed via pdf notes. Give it a try. Yes we do use some of the free games that exist for the Ipad. We just need more Ipads…

  8. ilessonlady says:

    Thanks everyone for the great feedback! As you can tell this is a work in progress, but all of these comments have really boosted my confidence. School starts up for us in 2 weeks, so the blog will get rolling at a faster pace then. I can’t wait to see what you all think of some of the lessons we try. Please leave comments with suggestions! Thanks for the support!

  9. Dave Wingler says:

    Very cool! I wish you lots of success with this blog 🙂 I’d like to recommend another app that is great for special needs. Futaba Classroom Games. It allows 4 students to review vocabulary and concepts in the class by just using one iPad. Developed for use in K-5 classrooms as a general review app- I’ve heard it being used successfully in intervention programs as well as with autistic children.

Leave a Reply

